Sound: Independent Post-Production

Today I went to the Media and Comms social space, where there are several Mac computers located. I accessed Adobe Audition from the Mac to edit my clips, and imported them from my memory stick. Additionally, I copied my clips to the desktop, which made sure Audition runs smoothly when editing; without trying to constantly transfer my files from the memory stick.

Firstly, to import the Garage Band clips I wanted, I found them individually on the Sound Effects section. I dragged them into the track, changing the speed as I wished. For example, with ‘footsteps interior’, I slowed down the bpm to 60 so it sounded more realistic. I then clicked Share – Export Song to Disk – Location – Desktop and exported each effect as a song to the desktop. After that, I imported the songs to Adobe Audition to mix with my pre-recorded clips imported from the TASCAM recorder.

I arranged all my pre-recorded and Garage Band clips in the order I wanted them to run in, and dragged them all in as seperate tracks to work with and overlap with each other. I overlapped the ‘busy room’ clip underneath ‘Two Ronnies full sketch with blanket’ to give the effect that the two characters are sitting inside a pub, which is the setting for the scene. I lowered the amplitude of the ‘busy room’ in the waveform section by dragging down the db icon. This meant that the intended background noise did not over power the main vocals. After that, I included the ‘city’ sound at the beginning of the track to give the effect of an introduction to the pub scene. The sound of footsteps outside underlays this, and a door opening follows the sound of the city; which flows into the ‘busy room’ and the sound of footsteps inside. This acts as a transition of the scene from exterior to interior, telling the listeners that the person walking outside has just walked into the pub. Seconds before the main track starts, I included the sound of clothes and a zip to portray that the character has just sat down and taken off their coat. Next, I put in sound effects of ice falling into glassware as the person walks to their seat, to increase the illusion of a pub setting.

At 9 seconds in, the main vocals start with the scene of two characters, Bert and Charlie; which plays continuously for the rest of the piece. When Charlie orders Bert a pint of bitter at 25 seconds in, I inserted the sound of a can opening and pouring beer into a glass, the sound of ice, and then the glass being placed onto the bar. This is when Bert says “ta, cheers” as in indication that he has picked up the drink. He then has a sip and Charlie says “cheers Bert” and they clink glasses. This segment is enhanced with the ‘swallow’ sound and ‘glasses clink’. The sound effects strengthen the image the audience get in their head of the narrative while listening to the piece. Finally, I added a fade-in and out effect to the beginning and end of the track, making flow smoothly.

I experimented with various plug-ins in the mixer to enhance the sound of my clips, such as with the glasses clink. I believed that the frequency was too high and harsh, so I added in a preset filter. However, I was not sure on exactly how to use the plug-ins effectively, and I did not know the full potential of how I could change my work. Therefore, I will need to learn how to use these techniques to the best effect in the next session with my lecturer.

In the next workshop, I will learn advance editing techniques on Adobe Audition, which I can use with my piece to increase the quality. Additionally, I will be told how to export my piece and upload it to Soundcloud for marking.

Leave a Reply

